Main Sugarcan Research Station, Navsari

Historical background

The research work on sugarcane was initiated at Agricultural Research Station, Vyara (Dist.- Surat) in the year 1934 and subsequently it was transferred to Navsari at Regional Sugarcane Research Station in 1968-69. Before splitting of Gujarat Agricultural University in to four state universities (May 1, 2004), there were two regional sugarcane research stations viz., Navsari and Thasara. Kodinar was working as main Sugarcane Research Station in the State up to April-2004. Navsari center functions as Main Sugarcane Research Station, since May-2004 after formation of Navsari Agricultural University. The research station is mainly engaged in research work on crop improvement, crop production and crop protection. At present, four different research projects are in operation at Regional Sugarcane Research Station, Navsari as mentioned below.

Before 1985-86, five different research schemes on sugarcane with B.H. No. 3011-1, 3011-2, 3011-3, 4011 and 5011 were working at Navsari, which were merged in one budget head No. 5011 W.E.F. 1-4-85 vide University office order No. GAU/Compt/budget/5484-5528 dt. 1-4-1985.

After commencement of All India Co-ordinated Research Project on Sugarcane, ICAR has sanctioned one sub centre at Navsari since 1971-72 to carry out the research work in the discipline of Agronomy, Plant Breeding, Agril. Entomology and Plant Pathology.

Regional Sugarcane Research Station so far has released 18 improved Sugarcane varieties for general cultivation in the region, made more than 55 recommendations of production and protection technologies of sugarcane, which is evident by gradually increasing productivity of the sugarcane crop in the state. Research Station is producing more than 500 tones of Breeder seed every year of improved and ruling varieties of sugarcane. Tissue culture unit of the research station is producing 70,000 to 1, 30,000 tissue culture plantlets every year. These tissue culture plantlets used for breeder seed production at university farms and are also distributed to the farmers by no loss no profit basis for quality seed production. Research Station also carries out various extension activities to disseminate sugarcane cultivation technologies in the state viz., Front Line Demonstrations, demonstrations, Farmers Day, Field Day, Farmers fairs, exhibitions, on campus and off campus training, collaborative training with cooperative structure of the state, public institutions and state government, Diagnostic team visit and capacity building of officers of state agriculture department by imparting need based trainings and providing latest sugarcane literature. Research station also extends service of their scientists during well known mega event “KRUSHI MAHOTSAV” every year since 2005 for whole month starting from Aakhatrij (Akshaya tritiya). During event period every scientist has to visit about 40-50 villages and disseminate sugarcane technologies.

     N. M. College of Agriculture
     Aspee College of Horticulture
     College of Forestry
     Aspee Agribusiness Management Institute
     Vanbandhu College of Veterinary Sci. and Animal Husb.
     College of Fisheries Science, Navsari
     College of Agriculture, Bharuch
     College of Agriculture, Waghai
     College of Agricultural Engineering Dediapada, Narmada
     Aspee Shakilam Biotechnology Institute, Surat
     Polytechnic in Agriculture Bharuch
     Polytechnic in Agriculture Vyara
     Polytechnic in Agriculture, Waghai
     Polytechnic in Horticulture - Navsari
     Polytechnic in Horticulture, Paria
     Polytechnic Agricultural Engineering Dediapada Narmada
     Polytechnic in Animal Husbandry, Navsari

Research Centers
     Main Sugarcan Research Station, Navsari
     Main Cotton Research Station,Surat
     Main Sorghum Research Station, Athwa
     Regional Rice Research Station, Vyara
     Regional Cotton Research Station, Maktampura,Bharuch
     Soil and Water Management Research Unit
     Soil-Science Department
     Agriculture Experimental Station Paria
     Agricultural Research Station, Tanchha
     Agricultural Research Station, Achhalia
     Livestock Research Station, Navsari
     Mega Seed, Pulses and Castor Research Unit, Navsari
     Fruit Research Station, Gandevi
     Wheat Research Station,Bardoli
     Niger Research Station, Vanarasi
     National Agricultural Research Project, Bharuch
     Cotton Wilt Research Sub Station,Hansot
     Agriculture Research Station, Mangarol
     Hill Millet Research Station,Waghai

Extension Centers
     Krushi Vigyan Kendra: Navsari
     Krushi Vigyan Kendra Vyara
     Krushi Vigyan Kendra Waghai
     Krushi Vigyan Kendra Dediyapada
     Krushi Vigyan Kendra: Surat
     Agricultural Technology Information Center
     Sardar Smruti Kendra Navsari
     Bakery Training Unit: Navsari
  • Developed and Managed by: Department of IT, NAU.